Upper Culm Valley Parish Churches

Welcome to the website for the Upper Culm Valley Churches. We hope that you can find the information you require here.

This group of churches, within the Church of England's Diocese of Exeter, is comprised of three parishes and four churches : St. Mary's, Hemyock, Culm Davy Chapel (within Hemyock parish), St. Andrew's, Clayhidon and All Saints, Culmstock., all nestled within the Blackdown Hills, and mostly within the designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

We are fortunate to live in such a beautiful and unique corner of Devon with its distinctive landscape and sylvan rural character, and we feel very blessed. Each parish has its own individuality within the United Benefice which, under recent diocesan proposals, has become The Upper Culm Valley Mission Community. This means that we all seek to work together and co-operate wherever we can. We are at present working on a Mission Action Plan for the whole Mission Community. We also seek to work closely with Christians from other churches with whom we have good relations.

You will find a friendly welcome in each of our historic churches, each with its distinctive ethos. Each section of this website, I hope, will give you a feel for who we are and what we are about.

Whether you are local or a visitor, I do hope that you will be able to join us at one of our services or other events.

If you have any queries or questions please do get in touch with us.

The Reverend David Burton, Rector

Please click on a picture below to access parish pages

Culm Davy ChapelCulm Davy ChapelAll Saints' CulmstockAll Saints' Culmstock


St Mary's HemyockSt Mary's HemyockSt Andrew's ClayhidonSt Andrew's Clayhidon


Comprising the parishes of Hemyock with Culm Davy, Clayhidon and Culmstock.

Slide Show

Here are the most recent photos to be uploaded on this website (click on a photo to zoom)